Santa’s almost here, and that means it’s Christmas cookie time. We plan to make our cookies on Monday and Tuesday so they’ll be fresh for Christmas eve. If you’re looking for a recipe for a simple, kid-friendly cookie that the little ones can help create, check out a few of our family’s favorites.

Chocolate Chip

The Chocolate Chip Cookie

I love Alton Brown for his willingness to create a fantastic chocolate chip cookie for the gluten-impaired. I’ve tried many a chocolate chip recipe and I can guarantee you that you will not taste the difference between this cookie and one loaded with gluten. To dress this up for the holidays, I swap out half of the chips for red and green M&Ms. In February, this looks great with Valentine’s M&Ms as well.

PB Blossom

The Peanut Butter Blossom Cookie

Ever since my friend Linda gave us a tin of cookies including peanut butter blossom cookies, I’ve equated these with Christmas. Many recipes for these cookies are floating around, but making them gluten-free can be tricky (they tend to get too dry). Thankfully, my hero Nicole at Gluten-Free on a Shoestring has mastered this recipe (and so many others) and recently shared it in time for the holidays.

Lemon Slice

The Lemon Slice Cookie

Before becoming gluten free, a bunch of friends and I would participate in a holiday cookie swap. One year my friend Kelly brought over this incredible lemon cookie– light, crunchy, slightly chewy, and delicate. Like a sugar cookie that married a lemon cookie and had a precious little lovechild. I was determined not to say goodbye to this cookie due to dietary limitations, and fortunately found a similar recipe, again at Gluten-Free on a Shoestring. Not bad! And if you want to dress these babies up a little fancier, I love the drizzle and silver-sugar-sparkle idea here. I think we’ll try that this year, if I can get back out to the store for silver sparkles. Well, the edible kind, that is. We have plenty of silver sparkles in our house, but not the kind you’d want on your cookies.

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook. Happy baking, and have a wonderful holiday season!

