Other than the cold, I love winter. I think freshly fallen snow is one of the most beautiful sights in the world. Once I’m all bundled up I love to go outdoors. When I was a child I loved to go ice skating, sledding with my brothers and building forts out of snow. And, of course my brothers loved to start snow fights. As I got older, I still loved to spend time outdoors during the winter by snowboarding, I even enjoyed shoveling  snow (my parents requested it since I still live under their roof.) I know that some children prefer to stay indoors during the winter, but it is always important to try to encourage your children to stay active. Even though there are plenty of activities you can do indoors, we just wanted to remind of all the great activities you can enjoy outside.

There’s hockey, ice-skating, sledding, building snow men and if your children are really feeling adventurous there is snowboarding and skiing. If the last two options are too expensive for you, we have good news. New York State has recently announced the arrival of a new Frequent Skier Card that allows skiers/snowboarders to save 20 percent on lift tickets at the following resorts: Belleaye, Hunter, Windham, Plattekill and Holiday Mountain. There is also a deal for any children in the 4th grade. 4th graders from across the country can ski or ride for free at more than 25 participating New York State ski areas this winter when accompanied by a paying adult. Interested participants can visit here to fill out an application and send it in with a $19  processing fee to the address provided, along with a report card, progress report or letter from their school verifying that the child is in the 4th grade. Applicants will receive a seasonal 4th Grade Passport booklet of coupons including free all-day lift tickets, with the purchase of an adult lift ticket. This is a great way to introduce your child to a lifelong healthy habit.

If you are looking for a weekend trip with your family, there are deals for that too. For the weekends of January 9, February 6 and March 6, guest can book a weekend “ski and stay” package and get the third night’s lodging and a third day of skiing for free at participating properties, including Gore Mountain, Greek Peak Mountain, Holiday Valley and Hunter Mountain. For a complete listing of participating properties and to book this package, visit here. Pretty soon your whole family will be hitting the bunny slopes. Happy Holidays!

 

