As a follow-up to my post from earlier in the week, I’ve been asked by a few folks to share an easy, quick pasta sauce recipe (or as it is called by my Italian family, “gravy”).  The recipe I make for a Sunday pasta dinner takes four hours from start to finish, and is one that has been passed down through my family.  I can’t share it here for fear of being disowned, but I instead will share one that I’ve started using recently when I need a faster version.  It’s a very quick, tasty, super healthy recipe that you can tailor to your family’s tastes, especially picky little ones.  Traditional pasta sauces sold in grocery stores are loaded with oils, sugars, and often high fructose corn syrup.  To get something all-natural without spending the day in the kitchen, I’ve used this one, based on a recipe that comes from Weight Watchers.  It goes quite well in Italian dishes, and you can put it together quickly and let it simmer while you boil pasta, make a salad, or assemble the rest of your meal.

A quick, healthy pasta sauce

In a medium saucepan, heat one teaspoon of olive oil on medium heat.  Add two cloves of diced garlic (about two teaspoons) and saute until brown, 1-2 minutes.  Add one (28 oz.) can of crushed tomatoes, stir and reduce heat to low.  Add two tablespoons each of fresh basil and oregano (or a handful of dried herbs) and simmer for at least 10 minutes, and as long as an hour. Stir often to prevent burning on the bottom.  Season to taste, using kosher salt, pepper, onion powder, or whatever is desired.

To find out what’s for dinner at our house, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.

