My friend Julie emailed me a link to a recipe with which she’s recently fallen in love, and I think perhaps it is to be a new favorite here as well.  What’s great about this recipe is that it’s very versatile- it can accommodate almost any protein and/or vegetables, and served as a main dish despite the fact that it was made in one pan (plus one additional pot for boiling pasta).

Makings of a new favorite

Found on allrecipes.com, this recipe is called Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce.  It only includes red peppers and is intended to serve as a pasta sauce, but in reading the many rave reviews, it is clear this recipe can do much more.  I added a pound of chicken breast, cut into strips and sautéed alongside the garlic (in the initial step of the recipe), and then added fresh green beans along with the red peppers.  I envision this sauce would go well with asparagus or broccoli, and shrimp or even tofu.  I omitted the cayenne pepper as I wasn’t sure if my family would like the heat, but my friend assures me that adding a ¼ teaspoon enhances it.  I definitely plan to make another variation again soon!

To find out what’s for dinner at our house, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

