I’m not a big fan of fish, personally, but I include it in our meal rotation in order to reap the health benefits.  The newest dietary guidelines recommend eating fish twice a week, which means we need get creative, or it’s going to get boring.  A while back, I happened upon a tilapia recipe in Parents magazine that was fun and very kid-friendly.  It’s an easy way to hit a few food groups at once, and the presentation is appealing to little ones.

A present for dinner

I called my children to dinner by telling them to come open the “present on their plate,” and they were very excited.  In each of four 12 inch squares of parchment paper, arrange one tilapia fillet, four trimmed asparagus, two halved orange slices, and a handful of carrot sticks.  Sprinkle a little garlic powder and kosher salt over the fillets, drizzle lightly with olive oil, squeeze the orange slices over the top, and wrap tightly.  Arrange on a cookie sheet and bake at 400 for 12 minutes, or until fish flakes easily and veggies are crisp-tender.  I left the packages wrapped on each plate so my kids could have the fun of opening them, and served with a side of wild rice pilaf (with pureed cauliflower mixed in), steamed cauliflower, and some fresh fruit.  There were no leftovers.

To find out what’s happening in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

