Sometimes my time is the kitchen is short, whereas on other days I find myself making three meals in a row. Recently I had a day during which I was cooking more than not, but it was lots of fun, as most of it was done with my daughters.  For a full version of everything that came out of the kitchen that day (there was more!), visit my blog, but here’s a preview.

A day in the life of “A Year in the life of a kitchen”

Egg cups– a great breakfast on the go, or even lunchbox treat.  Mix together four eggs, a handful of shredded cheese, ½ cup cooked veggies, and ¼ cup cooked turkey bacon (if desired), and pour into four muffin cups.  Bake at 375 for 15 mins or until firm.

Fresh veggie platter- we were craving fresh vegetables, so I quickly put this together with some low-fat dip.  My kids were eating vegetables faster than I could believe.  With some cheese on the side for protein, this was a nice, light lunch.

Ice pops- Add three cups of fresh fruit, one tbsp. of sugar, and one tsp. of lemon juice into the blender, and process till smooth.  Divide among four 5-oz. dixie cups, add sticks, and freeze for three hours.  These are really not much more than pureed fruit, but my girls were delighted nonetheless.

Finally, a pretty easy dinner.  We baked a whole grain potato bread (but any nice sandwich bread or roll would do) and topped it with grilled chicken, fresh mozzarella, baby spinach, and grape tomatoes, and served it alongside some raw veggies and honeydew.

To find out what’s cooking in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

