I love finding dinner recipes that sound fun, and “chicken spinach pie with mashed-potato crust” was one of them.  Although the ingredients themselves aren’t so unique– chicken, spinach, carrots, ricotta, and potatoes– the assembly and presentation are cute, and results in a dinner that is definitely not boring.  Straight out of Parenting magazine, the recipe can be found here.  It is a fairly easy dish to make, and lends itself well to one small improvement.  When making the mashed potatoes, I mixed in ½ cup of pureed, steamed cauliflower, a trick I learned from my favorite food enhancer, the Sneaky Chef.  The addition was not noticeable to the naked tongue (ha), and I felt happy knowing there was one more vegetable in our dinner.  My kids loved eating a meal that came from a pie plate, and who can argue with that?

Chicken-spinach pie with mashed-potato crust

I’d love to hear about your favorite, fun family dinners. To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

