by Jeremiah Benedict.

The Hudson Valley is known for a lot of things: the mountains, fall foliage, wineries, and day trips, but it also includes the town of Roscoe, recently named fishing town USAThere’s been so much buzz about this quaint fishing town revered by anglers, and situated in beautiful spot. Being an avid fisherman myself, I had to go check it out.  My adventure started at the Flyfishing Museum.  The museum is located right on the Willowemoc Creek, in prime trout fishing waters; in fact, in order to get to the museum you must go across the creek by crossing a rustic wooden bridge.  When crossing the bridge a simple gaze to your left or right at the creek with its cascades of white water, swirling into slow eddies and pools’ shady shorelines with overhanging brush make you realize you’re are in the perfect setting for trout. 

Once in the museum, I was fascinated by the large collection of antique fly rods and reels, pictures of trout, flies, and all types of equipment and displays of information about the sport of fly fishing.  There was even a guest fly fisherman on hand to demonstrate the art of “fly-tying.”

In this video, Jeremiah records Paul Gallo who is demonstrating the “fly fishing” movements, while Floyd Franke instructs. 

Error
This video doesn’t exist

When I was told there was a fly-fishing instructor at the museum that day, my experience really got quite interesting.  Floyd Franke, former lead instructor of the prestigious Wulff School of Fly Fishing, along with fly casting instructor Paul Gallo, gave me a personal fly-casting lesson.  Trout all over might want to look when I approach the stream, after Floyd showed me the proper techniques of accurate casting.  Of all the tips and instruction Floyd gave me the most valuable was how to tell a good fish story; but that is an art I have already mastered. 

For those interested, Paul and company will be at the Roscoe Farmer’s Market July 16th doing a clinic, and giving free fly-fishing instruction.  So if you get a chance, take a ride to Roscoe and “fish” around.

