One thing I really like to make for my kids are healthy snacks.  Especially since I have a grade-schooler who needs daily packed snacks, I’ve had fun getting creative.  Mini granola bars, roasted chickpeas, and trail-mix blends are fun to make, and my kids enjoy the little treats they find in their bags.  The best part about these snacks is that you can assemble them in bulk, and store extras in the pantry or freezer.  With an adequate stash on hand, they’re ready to toss into a lunch cooler or backpack on the fly.

Power sticks

This recipe is a Weight Watchers recipe that a friend had given me almost ten years ago.  My daughter says they taste like cookie dough, so I take that as a very good sign.  It requires no cooking, is incredibly quick to assemble, and is very portable.  I always make this in a triple batch, wrap the extras individually in wax paper, and keep them in the freezer.  On a morning when we need a quick on-the-go breakfast or snack, a power stick accompanied with a banana is the way to do it.  To make a single batch, combine 1/2 cup of all-natural (sugar and oil-free) peanut butter, 3 Tbsp. of honey, 2/3 cup of whole grain flakes, and 1/3 cup of instant fat-free powdered milk.  Mix ingredients in a bowl until well-blended.  Form six sticks, and wrap individually in wax paper.  Store in an airtight container.

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

