Sometimes a summer morning requires something as simple as a smoothie.  These days, we’ve been bringing a light, healthy breakfast out onto the deck, and enjoying the soft sun and birds chirping in the early morning.  The other day I came across a new smoothie recipe, and knew I’d make it the following morning.  I make smoothies often, and although I’ve used a wide variety of fruit, I’ve never ventured past, well, fruit.  I have friends who put vegetables in their juicers, but I’ve never been sure about putting vegetables into the blender with yogurt.  Would my kids eat it?

A green smoothie

Found in Hannaford’s “Fresh” magazine, this recipe appealed to me not only because it included vegetables, but because it was green. Green!  My kids eat green, of course, but not usually in a drink.  I got to work.  In a blender, combine 1 1/2 c. orange juice, 1 c. organic baby spinach, 1/2 c. plain nonfat yogurt (I had vanilla, so this is what I used), 1 t. fresh ginger (I had ground ginger, so I just sprinkled a little in), 1/3 c. walnuts (I omitted), 1/2 c. strawberries (fresh or frozen), and 1/2 c. frozen mango pieces.  Blend on low for 20 seconds, then blend on high until fully incorporated.  It made three servings, and everyone liked it so much that I made another batch.  “Martian juice” smoothies– success!

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

