I love zucchini.  I eat it fresh, cut into sticks; I eat it steamed, with a little olive oil drizzled on top; and I grate it and put it into chili, bread, and muffins.  But this morning I did something new- I put it into pancakes.  Yep, zucchini in pancakes.  I thought it sounded a little kooky, but a friend emailed me a recipe from a cool blog we both follow, so I decided to give it a try.  I was a little unsure as I mixed shredded zucchini into the batter, but once I smelled them cooking on the griddle, I knew I’d found a new family favorite.

Zucchini bread pancakes

The recipe for the pancakes can be found on A Pretty Life in the Suburbs, which is a really nifty blog with cute recipes, home DIY projects, etc.  For once, I followed the recipe without modifications, although I probably used a little more shredded zucchini than she specified.  The oats gave it a nutty crunch, the zucchini tasted so fresh against the cinnamon, and they were truly delicious. My husband, who can be very picky about pancakes, raved about them.  With zucchini so plentiful, either from your garden or a local farm stand, I highly recommend giving this breakfast a try!

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

