HV Parent blogger, Tenise, wrote about texting just as I was enjoying this new book on my desk, Crazy Things Parents Text by Stephen and Wayne Miltz.  There wasn’t much on these two guys, either in the book, or their website with the same name.  But they are definitely on to something funny, and something with endless material.  From a mom who loves to text her teen daughters, I know what I’m talking about. 

I’ve had the best conversations with my girls, via texts. The ones where theyadmitted doing something wrong and apologized, or when they were mad and used capital letters (which we all know is difficult to type on teeny tiny keyboards with an even tinier “shift” key, and doing so while annoyed).  One time, I actually had a real heated text argument with my oldest about something I insisted she do, which she didn’t like, and which she was very open and honest about.  We were still friends, but I did have to text her that I didn’t get a phone for her so that she could text, “I hate you,” in a message.  But, she was honest, and having it happen face to face would’ve been very traumatic.  Having it happen on the phone, while she was miles away, was almost comical.  I smiled at the goofy-ness of how far parenting has come (or the steps it’s taken backwards).  And there’s something very special when I nag my daughter about something like “do the dishes,” or “walk the dog,” and I get her little expression icon which is usually this:

 :l 

which is her way of giving me a smirky-kind of face that means she doesn’t like what she’s being ask to do, but is accepting of it.

In this new book, sure to be the rave for a while, the Miltz’ replay some funny texts between cool kids and their clue-less parents.  Here’s a good one from a mom, obviously new to texting, to her teen daughter:

   TEEN: Mom, I have to go ttyl

   MOM: No! Wait, what does TTYL mean?

   TEEN: Talk To You Later

   MOM: No! If you stop texting now without telling me what it means you’re in big trouble!

There’s more in this book, some laugh out loud funny, some with some tasteless innuendos, unintended mind you due to either misuse of phrases or a just plain old typo.  It’s a good book for older kids and adults to laugh at, but pretty much R rated in many instances.

I did want to mention a funny texting conversation I had recently. I was texting a friend, not a teen mind you, about wanting to meet up “tomorrow.”  However, I tend to vary my phrasing and rather than type “tomorrow,” I typed “manana.”  Maybe the keys were easier to find, who knows. But, unbeknownst to me, my new phone corrects words it doesn’t use (foreign terms fall into that category, I guess) and changes the word to match one that “it” recognizes.  My droid changed the word to “banana.”  So, my text went like this, “Meet you banana.”  Imagine my surprise when this reply came:  “OK, cantaloupe.” 

A little ironic that these phones meant to ease communication are actually causing a lot of mis-communication as well.

TTYL,

