Chicken is a kitchen stand-by, but it can get boring if the preparation isn’t varied.  Especially when feeding a family, you’ve got to keep things interesting, and have your repertoire varied for picky eaters.  As I’ve said before, I constantly keep an eye out for new recipes, and collect my findings in a giant binder.  Flipping through a Rachel Ray magazine, I came across not only a chicken dish, but an entire dinner.  I was excited to try it and add it to my collection, and wasn’t disappointed when I did.

Crunchy chicken with green beans and rice

I followed this recipe closely, making only a few changes.  Rather than mayo in the recipe, I used light sour cream, and I found a crusty ciabatta roll to be perfect in the place of a baguette.  Finally, I steamed the green beans rather than boiling them, as I hate to lose veggie’s nutrients to water, and added 1/2 cup of pureed cauliflower to the rice.  Everyone enjoyed the chicken, and it was a nice change from a regular bread-crumbed breast.  It came together quickly, and paired with some strawberries, it was a great dinner.

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

