Like many others, I bake much less in the summer.  Who wants to turn on an oven in the middle of a hot afternoon?  Breakfast, however, is the one time of day when I can justify using the oven without feeling too guilty (or overheated).  A friend of mine posted pictures of an enticing breakfast she’d made the other day, and I hit her up for her recipe source. As soon as I got a look at the recipe, I was hooked, and knew I’d be trying it out the very next morning.  I love cooking with in-season produce, and the idea of fresh blueberries melting into the dough sold me on the spot.

Blueberry breakfast cake

This recipe comes from a wonderful site, Alexandra’s Kitchen, which is filled with delicious meal ideas (her zucchini fritters are next on my list!)  I made just one change, and substituted whole wheat pastry flour for 1/3 of the white flour.  Usually I also replace at least half of the butter with applesauce, but I was too dazzled by her recipes to remember to do so.  I’ll do that next time.  Everyone in my house gobbled a piece, and then had seconds, so I highly recommend making it!

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

