As the school year approaches (yes, I said it, even though the reality of it makes me sad), I start gathering ideas for quick breakfasts, lunch boxes, and snacks.  I’m a big muffin fan, and I do believe you can’t have too many muffin recipes. When I find a good muffin recipe, I bake two dozen, and freeze most of them in Ziploc bags.  I’ll often make some as mini-muffins, which are also great to freeze and pop into a lunch box for a snack.

Banana chocolate chip muffins

I don’t put chocolate chips into breakfast items too often, as I’d rather rely on fruit to jazz up a baked good.  Banana and chocolate, however, are worth the exception.  This recipe comes from weelicious, and was enjoyed by both my family and a friend’s family.  I followed the recipe closely, making only a few changes.  I used whole wheat pastry flour for half of the flour, and I decreased the chocolate chips to 1/2 a cup, and still found that to be plenty.  I used half agave nectar and half honey for the sweetener.  Often I use applesauce in place of oil, but since it was a fairly small quantity and this was the first time I was making it, I left it as is. Next time, I’ll use half applesauce, half oil.  The muffins were filling and chocolaty, and will definitely join my fall muffin rotation.

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

