One of my duties here at the magazine is to keep the website fresh, and we decided to update our online video collection and thought, “ok, we’ve had wonderful experts discuss important topics and give some terrific advice,” but let’s get to some babies.  I spent yesterday afternoon watching videos of babies turning over, babies learning to walk, babies conversing, babies meeting doggies, babies trying a lemon for the first time, babies being asked to say “mama,” but only able to say “dada.”  But the absolute best was watching babies laughing.  What is it about laughing babies!  It allowed me to forget my broken up driveway (courtesy of Hurricane Irene), to forget about missing my oldest daughter now back at college, my overflowing pile of work to catch up on, my messy house, and the list goes on.  Even the economy didn’t feel so bad as I viewed one pair of joyful eyes after another, and it reminded me of why parenting is one of the best jobs in the world (forget about it being one of the hardest). 

As I watched the videos, I noticed these babies’ eyes were glued to the people they trusted the most.  The hands behind the camera were the moms and dads, grandmas, or grandpas, or maybe an aunt or uncle who are the most important people to these new little lives.   These babies, from all around the world, were showing their  love to the ones who care for them every day.  The people who greet them in the crib at 8 in the morning, or in the middle of the night, the ones who make sure they’re bathed, freshly diapered, and fed.  And that kind of love you can’t fake; it’s pure.

When you need a “pick-me-up,” visit the HVParent website and you’ll find a natural remedy for whatever ails you.  And, it’s free. No insurance necessary.  Here’s one to get you started.

We’d love to get videos of our Hudson Valley babies and kids doing fun stuff*, i.e., laughing, giggling, chewing, babbling, dancing.  So, next time you get your little one on camera, share it with the world – it will brighten someone’s day.

(* Send your one-minute video to MJ at editor@excitingread.com – and we’ll let you know when it’s up on our site. Plus, we’ll send you something fun, and name you an official Hudson Valley “video star.”)

TTYL,

