(Hawks Nest)

What a great Fall season we are having here in the Hudson Valley.  A break from nature’s wrath, I suspect.  We had such a tough August and this grand weather has made it easy for us to get out and breathe again. 

I needed to breathe a bit today because last night, I innocently decided to revise our TV viewing set-up in the downstairs den.  “Dear!” I called to my technically-savvy husband, “How can I stream Netflix down here?” 

“You can go through the accessory outputs of the cable box,” I think was his response.  “Huh?” I replied. 

“Or, you can go through the Wii.”  

“But, dear,” I replied in my most sweetest voice because while I was annoyed since I had no idea what he was saying, I needed to stay on his good side.  “I don’t know what that means.”

He came into the room, not too happy to have been taken from his computer solitaire game.  We spent the next hour or so, switching plugs from here and there, setting up the Wii, looking up instructions on the computer on how to set up the Netflix movie stream on the Wii, turning the TV off and on to see if our struggles were successful.  Then, when we thought we had it, we turned on the TV, switched to Wii mode, then clicked on Netflix, but nothing.  Dumbfounded, we stared at the TV. 

Then, my husband had his V8 moment.  “Stupid us,” he said, “We don’t have the sensor bar.”   I thought smoke was going to come out of my ears.  The WHAT?

Now by this time, I had had it with modern technology and my ignorance of it.  Plus, that it allows us so many options, but with a price.  It’s easy, they say, to stream on your computer, if only you have the blah, blah, blah with the ABCD cable connection, and the XYC cable outputs with the blue, white and red wires.

I sighed, trying to keep my voice light.  “What is a sensor bar?” 

“The bar that was on the upstairs TV for years that the girls used to play their Wii games.” 

“Oh, that flimsy thing that sat on the TV that I dusted off now and then?”

“Uh huh,” he said.

“Do we have one?”

“It should be on the upstairs TV,” he said.
But it wasn’t.  We looked around for it, go out the flashlight, looked under the TV stand, in boxes where I put electronic things I have no clue about.

“Where would it have gone?” asked my husband, truly perplexed.

I was now a woman possessed, and was on the phone with my local electronics store, trying to explain what we were looking for.

“Hold a minute,” the sales rep said. “Yes, we have one, but it’s battery operated.”

I called to my husband, “Dear, do we want the one that’s battery operated?”

“Not unless you want to change the batteries every time you use it.”

“No,” I told the sales rep.  “Sorry,” he replied.

Next call.

The local game outlet had one, refurbished, but it was both wireless and would take batteries.

“Dear?”  I called.  “How about I make dinner while you go and get that sensor-bar thing.  This way, if there are questions about it you know what to say.” I was still my sweet-self.

And he went, and came home from his “hunt,” with the sensor bar, complete with instructions for set-up.  

I ripped it out of his hands. 

Throughout this ordeal, I lamented the days when you could plug in a TV, and just watch a show.  With knobs you could see without bending and squinting, the phrase “remote control” was was heard more in Jetson cartoons than in every day conversation, and no  cable reception necessary.  And, most of what was on was family-friendly. 

That’s why on this gorgeous Fall day, I took a drive to Hawks Nest.  There’d be plenty of days when we’d be in, wanting out of the cold, to watch a Netflix movie or whatever.  But, not today. 

