Recently, I woke up at 3 am and couldn’t fall back to sleep.  Overachiever that I am, I decided to get up and get some things crossed off my to-do list.  I threw in a load of laundry, emptied the dishwasher, and suddenly the words “crockpot pancake” popped into my head.  A while back I’d seen a recipe for making a giant pancake in the crockpot, and I’d stored it away in my memory for a morning when I was up early enough to give it the time to cook, or some afternoon when I was planning breakfast for dinner.  It takes two hours to cook, but since it was 4 am at that point, it seemed perfect. It was.

A giant crockpot pancake

The idea comes from my favorite crockpot site, and the pancake recipe comes from a great gluten-free cookbook.  The crockpot directions state you can use an 18 oz. pancake mix (and the corresponding ingredients it would require, such as eggs, oil, milk) or your own ingredients.  I had a recipe for gluten-free pancakes, so I doubled it, assuming that’d be about the right amount.  I’ll share the recipe here, or feel free to use a mix or your favorite recipe.  Of course, this can be gluten-free, even dairy-free, or neither, depending on your needs.  The beauty of this one was that it literally cooked itself, and I was free to go on my merry way and fold socks.  At 5 am.  I know, I need help.

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 ½ c. flour (brown rice flour if you’re gluten-free)
  • 2 T. baking powder
  • ½ c. oil
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 4 T. sugar
  • 1 ½ tsp, xanthan gum (omit if using regular flour)
  • 1 tsp, vanilla
  • 2 c. milk (dairy-free, if you desire)
  • 1 c. blueberries (I added this; you can swap in another fruit for sure)

This is the doubled recipe- halve it if you’re just using it to make pancakes.  Combine, mixing well.  Pour into greased crockpot.  Cook on high for two hours.  Edges will be slightly browned, and middle will be firm. Do not overcook.

When my family finally rolled out of bed at 6:30 am (lazy-bones!), they were excited to find a beautiful “slice” of pancake ready to eat.  It came out thick, fluffy, and had the perfect texture.  The clean-up was minimal, and it tasted really good.  We’ll definitely make this again.

To see what’s happening in our kitchen, or to share what’s going on in yours, please stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy (gluten-free) cooking!

