It’s nice to have a simple, versatile side dish to accompany a family meal.  Kids (and many adults!) can be picky about vegetables, so having a few options in your repertoire can’t hurt.  I’ve recently discovered Pinterest, and was delighted to find a plethora of new recipes to try.  This recipe was one of my Pinterest finds, although it originally comes from allrecipes.

A verstile side dish: Zucchini and Potato Bake

This recipe, Zucchini and Potato Bake, is pretty self-explanatory, and for once, I didn’t make any changes.  (Wait, have I ever said those words before?  Probably not).  I did use gluten-free breadcrumbs I’d made; tailor that to your dietary needs.  Although I often use glass baking dishes, I used a cast-iron enamel pan (which happens to have been passed down from my grandmother- she said she got it as a wedding gift) and it crisped up the potatoes nicely.  Try this one out, and feel free to spruce it up (I considered adding some fresh herbs or spices, but decided not to since it was the first time I was making it).  My kids did like it, although one daughter picked out all of the zucchini, and the other picked out half of the zucchini and red peppers.  Continual exposure can’t hurt, though, and you pick your battles.  If your family has preferences for one kind of vegetable over another, substitutions are worth trying as well.  For us, this dish went well with turkey burgers, carrots, and fruit.

To see what’s happening in our kitchen, or to share what’s going on in yours, please stop by, or become a fan on Facebook. Happy (gluten-free) cooking!

