Just about one year ago (almost to the day), I blogged about a new recipe I’d discovered from a fun blog, for zucchini bread pancakes.  This morning, as I stared at a surplus of zucchini, visions of those incredible pancakes stirred in my mind.  Shortly after making those pancakes last year, my family became gluten-free.  Slowly but surely, we’ve revisited special recipes, one by one, making tweaks and alterations.  As a rule, it’s best to find a true gluten-free recipe for something rather than make substitutions to a traditional recipe.  Many do not translate well due to different properties of gluten-free flours, wet-to-dry ratios, and lack of well, gluten.  Certain recipes, however, are unique and beg for experimentation.  I’m pleased to say that this recipe translated amazingly.  Proportionately, there’s not much flour, which bodes well for its success.

A summery breakfast

If you’re not gluten-free, go straight to the original recipe.  My only change is to use two cups of shredded zucchini.  To make these gluten-free, substitute the one cup of flour for 3/4 cup plus 1 T brown rice flour, 2 T cornstarch, and 1 T tapioca flour.  Make sure your oats are certified gluten-free, and use 1 t xanthan gum.  Follow the recipe as posted above, and enjoy.  We’re also mostly dairy-free, and the recipe worked well with almond milk in place of cow’s milk, soy-free dairy-free butter in place of butter, and I did use the sour cream because there’s no good substitute. Almond milk yogurt might work, but I didn’t have any on hand, and it might be too thin.  No matter how you make them, they’re incredible.

To share what’s new in your kitchen, or find out going on in ours, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy cooking!

