We write a lot about toddlers and babies, and even the “school age” child, but this one is for the tweens.  Those 13-14 year olds that still like playing board games, but not the traditional ones that they’ve played for eons, but something trendy, but still really, really fun.   That game is FURT

Yes, I’ll admit, it’s not your typical name, and probably leans toward a sound that the body  makes after, maybe, beans.  But that’s not the point of the game at all.  It’s nothing gross, but in fact, it should actually be called, “silly fun.” 

My 19-year-old is a game player; she definitely has inherited the genes to carry on the family game night tradition.  When I saw the game FURT, and read that it was for the 13 and up range, I knew it would be something right up our alley.  She learned the game in seconds, and taught me how to play with one condition: that she be able to keep the game and bring it with her to college in September.  I said, “Sure.”  I’ll make any kind of deal whenever it means one of my kids will spend time with me.  (Remember “South Africa?”  Enough said.)

FURT is an easy set up, and there are tons of player cards which means the game can have endless plays without repeats.  First thing you do is pick a marker, or a little player that moves along the board.  My daughter choose the big “number 1” finger, and I choose the garden gnome.  I rolled the die, and Emily said, “You have to take one of those small cards.”  These cards had the phrase, “what the ?!” on the back.  But I wasn’t to read what it said out aloud.  That was because it had secret instructions for me. 

Instructions to do something annoying before my next turn.  I was to go get something to eat in the kitchen, bring it back and start chewing, and then when anyone asked what I was eating, I’d open my mouth and mumble, “want some?”  OK.  I admit.  Annoying.  But, remember the age.  It’s for tweens.  When we do something with our kids, sometimes we do so on their level…sometimes ensuring that they’ll actually enjoy it.  So what that mom or dad looks like a big nut.  Watching Emily, albeit almost an adult, laugh like a loon was worth the effort.  Her turn was to make me laugh, and all she had to do is wiggle her fingers by her ears and I lost it.  Who cared, really, who won the game. By this time we just want to get our next turn to be silly.

These days, and I don’t mean to get all serious and all, but we need every opportunity to just relax with our tween-age kids (and older).  And if it takes a game with a funny sounding name, so be it.

