I’ve never really been one to make New Year’s resolutions. Mostly I don’t bother with them because as almost anyone who has ever made one of these promises knows it’s really hard to keep them past January. I think one of the reasons why it’s so hard is that our goals are a bit unrealistic so I’ve decided instead of making resolutions to live my life differently, I’m going to make over my expectations in an effort to make 2013 a better year. Here are my Made Over Resolutions to myself.

1. Screw the skinny jeans and vow to love your body instead. Yes you heard right, screw that pair of pants that everyone keeps at the back of her closet in the hopes that one day we can wiggle our way back into them. So many of us make a resolution to lose weight instead of one to live healthier.  Health does not equate to your weight. When I was younger I was super skinny, to the point of being teased in high school about it. Back then I was more focused on my other flaws like my braces and lack of any curves to speak of. Today, I think I’ve made peace with the size my body likes to be. I may gain or lose about 10 pounds based on the season but my body seems to really settle on the weight I am right now and you know what, that’s fine with me. I actually gave up the “ideal” skinny jeans in favor of ones that fit and flatter my body. We moms have forgotten that our bodies have given us some amazing little people so you know I think we should cut our bodies a little slack. Instead of focusing on losing weight I have decided to be more active with my kids, drink more water and be happy with my body just the way it is. Despite what TV trends would like us to believe, sexy comes in all shapes and sizes.

2. Water my OWN lawn more (for those of you that haven’t guessed yet – I am extremely metaphorical.) What I mean is I’m going to stop as much as humanly possible comparing my life to others because the grass will always be greener on the other side if I’ve stopped watering my own lawn. It’s totally easier said than done, but I think it’s so easy to get caught up in admiring what other people have that we tend to focus on what we don’t have instead of what we do. This year, I will try to focus on the many blessings in my life. My hope is that if I do, I’ll be happier with everything just the way it is because I am a frugal person and there’s no easier way to save money then to love what you’ve already got.

3. Make debt my mortal enemy. I’ve already whittled my budget by a little more than $500 a month (yes, I’m bragging a little), but the pile of debt is far from defeated. Now in 2013 I am making it my mission in life to get rid of all my credit card debt and to not incur any new debt. Whenever I need a morale boost to stay on budget I look at my debt repayment plan and see how I could pay off my house in 13 years if I stay on track and snow ball all my savings from each repaid debt toward the biggest of them all – my mortgage. So I’ll forgive my clunky minivan for its latest round of issues instead of wishing for a new one because I’m looking way past 2013 to the bigger picture.

4. Cook from scratch more. There’s a reason it was always a joy to eat over grandma’s house. They grew up in a time when all our meals didn’t come out of a little box or can. They used real food, recipes and took the time to actually cook instead of just reheat. I’m far from Betty Crocker, but I can read and follow directions so that’s what I’m going to try to keep up in 2013. It is far cheaper and more delicious to cook from scratch. Sure it’s a little more work, but at least I’ll end up with leftovers people will actually eat (a money saver in and of itself). I’ve noticed that nobody ever wants to reheat the hamburger helper type meals in my house anyway so in the garbage it goes.

5. Last but not least – Get Happy! I find that happiness is a concept that evolves and so it bears re-evaluating a lot. I literally stop and ask myself “What’s it going to take to make me happy?” So for 2013 I’m going to keep on writing till I figure it out.

I wonder if the reason so many New Year’s resolutions fail is because we aim too small with our goals. Did you make any New Year’s resolutions? Did you keep last year’s? Feel free to share your tips on what keeps you on track cause it sure doesn’t hurt to share the motivation.

