ImageWhat is it about the beach that just seems to magically make everything better?

After work on July 3rd, my boyfriend, Bill, and I packed our bags and headed down to Rehoboth Beach, DE for our “Annual Schellhas Family Vacation.”

We were having a great time talking and reconnecting with each other during the ride down… but at about 1am (45 minutes away from our destination), the unthinkable happened.

 [Insert dramatic music here]

My car broke down went into cardiac arrest and died.

Yep, you guessed it… my timing belt snapped.

We promptly called AAA to tow us anywhere besides the middle of I-95.  Bill’s mom (Linda) and his uncle (also named Bill) came to our rescue once again…

Nope, this isn’t the first time they had to pick us up off the side of the road. They had to pick us up in Jamaica, Queens after midnight not too long ago (we were on our way to the airport that time)…. Then there was that time Bill’s mom had to pick us up at Shop Rite in Poughkeepsie because my alternator decided to give up on life.

But on to happier things…

We finally make it to Rehoboth Beach, DE around 3am. It was an interesting night to say the least.

I was all ready for my stress-free vacation, but my car had other plans. I’m definitely not in any position to buy a new car right now, so I was upset because I know me and I know I’d be freaking out about my car situation the entire trip.

Bill, Linda and I had a long talk about life, cars, money and our situation that night and we came to the conclusion that no 24 year old… oh wait I just had a birthday… 25 year old is loaded with cash and we all drive crappy cars.

While I’d love to steal my co-worker, Jesse’s new car, I’m going to be okay settling for something old and let’s face it… cheap.

The next day, I went to the beach and sat there for hours. I looked out at the waves and contemplated life, then wrote a few chapters of a book I’ve been writing for the better part of 4 years. 

It was revitalizing

Although lately I’ve gone to extremes to lose weight and get in shape, I decided I deserved to eat whatever I wanted while on vacation… so up to Grotto Pizza I went for a slice of mushroom and onion pizza… okay, I admit it, I had a Cherry Icee too.

I had an amazing time on vacation, despite the fact that I had a little voice in the back of my head trying to stress me out about my car. I got up every morning, went to breakfast with the family, went to the beach for countless hours, ate lunch on the boardwalk, played games on the boardwalk, went back to the beach and had a nice dinner each night with the family.

It was GREAT!

Rehoboth beach is definitely a magical place… I can’t wait to get back there.

