Watching my son Shane play basketball is truly my favorite past time. He’s only seven, but boy can he dribble. I often daydream of being in the stands and watching him light up the court on a College hardwood, or even see him cutting down the net after winning the NCAA title. I talk about him constantly. I probably exhaust my welcome because I talk about his accomplishments so often, but for the most part, people are just as interested when they see him play.  He’s like a better version of me. A father’s dream come true.

So why do I get sad from time to time? Well, Shane isn’t my first and only son. Shane is my second. Older brother to Cole and younger brother to Luke. On August 28, Luke will turn ten years old. It boggles my mind how fast the time has gone, but nonetheless, ten years have passed.  You see, Luke was supposed to be my sports star. When we lived on Staten Island, we had not one, but two basketball hoops in his play room. Before he could stand he was kicking a soccer ball around.

What we found out shortly thereafter is that Luke would be diagnosed with Focal Epilepsy. His first seizure was the beginning of our adventure. Once we started to grasp this, the hits just kept coming. Low muscle tone, asthma, multiple food allergies and then eventually we would find out he had a Learning Disability. We’re not sure the reason behind all of this, it just is.

I’m here to talk about my experience as a dad to a son with Special Needs. A dad to a son that cannot do everything I hoped and dreamed he would. A dad to a son that I could not imagine living life without. Most importantly, a dad to a son that changed my life forever.

I want to reach out to other parents and say, it’s okay to have certain feelings and even though it can sometimes feel this way, you are not alone. You always hear things like “things can be worse,” and you know what? They really can be.  Stay tuned…

