I recently watched Home Alone 2: Lost in NY with my kids.

This is a glimpse of how my mind works:

  • What would my children do in this situation?
  • How long could they last without their mother & me intervening?
  • What would Luke do?

Then the more realistic question entered my mind. What WILL Luke do? There comes a time for every parent to let go of their children. Whether it’s sending them off to college or hopefully when they are on their feet with a steady career and money of their own. There should come a time where a parent can be comfortable with their now young adult child’s ability to live on their own and basically without their assistance. I don’t want to be one of those people who say, it’s different for a child with special needs. BUT it is…A lot different actually.

I am not confident that time and feeling of being comfortable will come for Luke. I am very hopeful, but at the moment my confidence level is hovering around 40-50%. I recently had a conversation with another dad whose son has special needs and he shared my concern, but was already looking towards the future. I’m not sure I am there yet with my son.  Sure we all think about it, but I’m not sure how many of us really want that day to come. Part of me wants to freeze my boys at the age they are currently at. After all, the older they get, the older we get, right? We live in a society now where Halloween costumes are sold out by October and winter clothes are hard to come by after September. Everyone is in such a hurry to move on, we don’t have time to enjoy what is right in front of us.

Do you have a child with special needs? If so, what are you doing to prepare for your child’s future? When is it “too early” to take action? I’m sure I am not the only person with this concern, so I am not asking as a subject matter expert, but as a parent who is looking for options as to what is out there.

The reality is time is just flying by quicker with no signs of slowing down. When Luke was born, I had a different job, in a different part of NY and lived in a different house with very different problems in my life. Just like that he is 10. The last thing I want is for him to be 20. Just like that.

I don’t normally consider myself a planner, but sometimes poor planning could end up with you in Florida and your kid lost in NY.

