I’m not sure how I’ve gotten this many years into food blogging without including a recipe for apple crisp, but please forgive me. I’ve always had a special place in my heart for apple crisp (the tattered recipe my sister gave me at my bridal shower, eleven years ago, confirms this) but its importance moved up a notch when we became gluten-free two years ago. As desserts go, apple crisp is pretty light on the gluten-containing ingredients, and that’s a huge bonus. Many gluten-free folks shy away from baking, especially early on, because gluten-free flours (and the resulting outcomes) vary so greatly, are pricey, and cooking with them can be very overwhelming. And if you have a picky set, forget it. While great gluten-free baked goods can be achieved with the right ingredients, and practice, they don’t always replicate traditional baked goods exactly, and that can be a turnoff to some.

Enter apple crisp… I swear to you, you’d never know it’s gluten-free. Unlike a cake or cookies, there’s almost no flour, and little room for error. The bulk of the ingredients are apples, anyhow, so how can you go wrong? As an aside, I let each of my kids choose a recipe to make after we’d gone apple picking, and my five-year-old chose apple crisp. Other than my assistance with peeling the apples and helping locate the correct measuring cups and spoons, she made this largely by herself. Even young ones can use a butter knife to slice apples, scoop dry ingredients, and mix the topping, so it’s a wonderful recipe for cooking with kids.

Apple Crisp

Apple Crisp

8 baking apples, peeled, cored, and thinly sliced
3/4 c sugar
1 T cinnamon
1 t cornstarch
3/4 c flour (substitute gluten-free here)
1 c brown sugar
3/4 c butter
1 c oats (substitute certified gluten-free here)

Toss apples with sugar, cinnamon, and cornstarch until coated. Place in greased 9 x 13 baking dish.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, oats, brown sugar, and butter. “Chop” together with two butter knives until crumbly, or pulse till crumbly in a food processor if available.

Pour topping over apples, bake 40 minutes at 350, and serve warm.

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook. Happy baking!

