For a 3 letter word, the word “but” sure has a lot of power. I recently heard it in the following context:

  • “You interviewed well and we were impressed with your knowledge, BUT”. (disappointing)
  • “Everything is great with your muffler, BUT” (expensive)
  • “I know someone who can get Knicks tickets, BUT” (disappointed again)

The past week and a half, we have been waiting for Luke’s EEG results. Every time we go through this process and Luke has this test, we do it with hopes of hearing the words he is seizure free. I could be way off, but I blame Luke’s learning disability on his seizures and being on medication at such a young age. Like I said, I could be wrong, but we have to blame something or someone right? Nobody wants to hear, “that’s just the way it is”. Hearing those words would start the process of getting him up to speed.  That process will begin with freeing him of the medication he is on and getting him to some sort of normalcy.

My wife called me with the EEG results that were given to her and it was good news. She was told that the test showed no seizure activity and we should begin the process of weaning Luke off his current medication. The message is then relayed to me. I am told that the test showed everything looked good, there were was no seizure activity, but there were small spikes.  When I didn’t show the excitement that was expected, my wife asked what was wrong? I said I would feel more relieved if he didn’t say the word “but”. This then started her thinking, “Did the doctor say but or did I”? Either way, it was out there.

So, about that little word “but”. (besides me using it nine times to make a point)  You could have the greatest news to share and if you choose to enhance the low in your voice with that word, it will always keep the other person thinking. Because of that little word, the return of seizures and their effects will always linger. It will always make your stomach turn. It will always try and prepare you for the worst, BUT…

