Thanksgiving is a time of family tradition. For the past few years, we’ve adapted our family’s recipes to our gluten-free lifestyle. Potatoes, cornbread, lots of veggies, and turkey all lend well to gluten-free cooking. A few recipes had to be tweaked, but most everything converted beautifully. Whether your family is gluten-free, free of some other allergen, or none at all, take a peak at our most recent Thanksgiving for some meal ideas and recipes.

For the two day before Thanksgiving, my kitchen is in cooking mode. I roast all the vegetables that will be used within recipes, and we make the pies, cornbread for the stuffing, the potato and sweet potato dishes, and fry the sausage and vegetables that will go into the stuffing. I find it makes Thanksgiving morning a little bit quieter and less messy- which is not to say that when it comes time to eat, we’re not still scurrying and getting thing just right.

Pumpkins

Pumpkins: Before. These went into a pie, bread, and some went into the freezer for future use. I was fortunate to receive a giant box of pumpkins and squash from my Uncle and Aunt who have a farm in Iowa. This was only the second time I’d ever cooked w/fresh pumpkin. Definitely worth it!!

Sweet potatoes

Roasted sweet potatoes, which go into a casserole.

Roasted pumpkins

Pumpkins: After

Turkey

First, the turkey. As it is, I leave the raw-turkey-prep to my husband, since I’m bothered my handling the raw bird. Did it have to come with a feature still attached? This grossed me out.


Smoothie

A morning smoothie. This was a peanut butter-banana-flax seed, to keep us going with protein for a while.

Soup

Pumpkin soup. My mom makes and brings this along. Yum. I don’t have her recipe, but I’m sure you can find one online.

Turkey II

The turkey. Post-roasting, post feather-removal.

Biscuits

Carrot-basil-cornmeal biscuits. These are a family tradition- my mom has been making them since the beginning of Thanksgiving time. This is the first year they were made gluten-free. (Next year I’ll add more milk, tablespoon by tablespoon, until the dough is more moist).

Potatoes

Mashed potatoes. The sour creamy kind. I sometimes use red potatoes instead of Yukon Gold, and then leave the skins on before boiling (steakhouse style).

Green beans

Green beans with shallots. Another contribution from my mom.

Stuffing

Cornbread apple-sausage stuffing. This was the crunchy in-the-oven kind, and there was also an in-the-bird version. For the cornbread, I make my own using a recipe by Sneaky Chef. It has pureed corn in the bread and it is *so* moist.

Indian pudding

Indian cornbread pudding. My mom made this one was well, and she said it was easy to make gluten-free.

Stuffing II

The moist cooked-in-the-bird version of the stuffing.

Turkey II

The turkey, carved. Thank goodness my dad worked in a deli when he was younger– he’s a pro at carving. Interesting Dad-carving-tip he picked up: He can carve the entire turkey, then reassemble it as if it was never touched.

Sweet potatoes

Sweet potatoes with crunchy roasted marshmallows. Cook the sweet potatoes first, then put the marshmallows on and put the dish under the broiler to get that crunch. ‘Nuff said.

Dinner

Thanksgiving dinner: Turkey, gravy, cornbread apple-sausage stuffing, biscuits, sweet potatoes, butternut squash, smashed potatoes, and Indian cornbread pudding. Whew.

Pumpkin pie

Pumpkin pie. I made this using my grandma’s recipe, but made a gluten-free crust. There’s even a video online for how to make your own, perfect pastry crust- check it out, it changed how I make pies!

Apple pie

Apple pie. My grandma made this with her secret recipe, and used a gluten-free baking mix for the crust.

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook. Happy Turkey Day!

