“We have to get a new snow blower,” my husband tells me and immediately I think “Um NO.” New snow blowers run between $500 – $800 for a gas powered model and the only way for us to pay for it would be on a credit card. As I’m trying very hard to pay off the last bit of credit card debt this year, I knew there had to be another way. For the record I’m totally for buying used instead of new. He actually bought his used snow blower about 3 or 4 years ago for $175 off of craigslist.

When It Comes To Money – Don’t Blow It

After talking about it for a little while he agreed to try to fix it instead of buying a new one. He took it to a repair shop and they wanted $100 just to take it apart to see what was wrong with no guarantees they could fix it. He decided just to tinker with it himself and in an afternoon he and my brother-in-law were able to tighten the belt and now it works fine. So a little bit of effort to shake the urge to buy new saved us $500 – $800 of would-be debt.

Shake The Spend Instinct

The moral of the story is that our first instincts are always to spend, to replace, and to buy new. These are the fun side effects of all that lovely media urging us to “Buy, buy, buy.” What they should have is a disclaimer warning us that if you follow their suggestions then that is exactly what you can say to your paycheck – “bye, bye bye.”

Life Hack 1

Recycle More of Your Income – Buy Used, Fix It & Hack It

To me, buying new is usually a bad investment as new items are almost always instantly worth less the minute you get them home. If you buy used, you pay significantly less for an item, don’t worry so much about wear and tear as it’s already broken in, and you usually don’t incur debt for an item that will lose it’s value before you can pay it off. I also love the fact that it gives items new life instead of adding to our landfills.

My husband came across these life hacks to make life easier using items you probably already have lying around the house. Since I love the idea of reusing items in new ways I thought I’d share.

Repurpose crib

What things do you buy used? Share your life hacks here as well. Follow me on Facebook.

