There is nothing more controversial than parenting, but the one thing we can all agree on is that mothers work their butts off: 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, stay at home moms and working moms alike.  It’s a job we signed up for willingly and eagerly without a shred of remorse.   What motherhood lacks in salary, stock options, and 401k matching it more than makes up for in pure joy and unconditional love.

DSC_0490

I love being a mom and being able to stay at home with my kids, but if I had to pick one thing I miss about working outside the home pre-kids?  Sick days.  Not the ones where you’re really sick, but the playing hooky kind of days lazing in bed till 10, cold pizza for breakfast, and trashy TV for hours without any of the responsibility of having to put on pants or answer the phone.

 

Now that I’m a mom, those days are long gone.  There are no sick days or personal days, only you can make it till bedtime days.  But, there is Mother’s Day, and I fully intend to cash in.  Some mothers like to spend the day with their children and I totally get that, but I like to spend a small part of it alone.  Does this make me a bad mom?  I don’t know, but what I do know is that my adoring husband takes my sweet kids out of the house for several hours on Mother’s Day morning.  I sleep through my alarm clock, aka my rise with the sun toddler, and I lie in bed.  When I finally get up, I enjoy my coffee in silence, maybe even read the Sunday paper on Sunday.  After that, who knows? The morning is mine and anything could happen or nothing could happen.  The point is it’s mine.  Then, when my family returns I’m happy to see them because the truth is one of the perks of me time is missing my family therefore renewing my appreciation of them which can get lost in the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

 

This Mother’s Day, if you’re anything like me and would love a little alone time, send this list of Mother’s Day activities to your significant other to be enjoyed with or without you depending on your preference.  You are the mom, after all.

IMG_1820

1. Take the kids to a park or playground.  The Hudson Valley has many to chose from including this one, this one and this one.

 

2. Hudson Highlands Nature Museum is offering a Mother’s Day Hike.  Bring mom or let her sleep, but either way head over with the kids for a little adventure.

 

3. New Paltz Fire Department is hosting a Cars and Crafts Show Sunday with kid’s activities.  Under 12 are free.

 

4. So, if you forgot to have your child make a special craft for mom, the New Jersey Children’s Museum could be your answer.  They will be providing crafts for the kids to make for mom in between all the playing they will do at the museum.

 

5. After all that time out and about, giving mom some much needed alone time, pick up a few sandwiches, grab mom, and head out for a picnic.  By that time she will be missing her family and would love to join in on all the fun especially if she doesn’t have to make the meal.

 

Happy Mother’s Day Moms!

