Yesterday was Halloween and my family and I hosted a trunk for our church’s Trunk or Treat. Normally, I take the minimalist approach to the holidays and Halloween is no exception. I’m sorry but I’m just not down for carving pumpkins just so I can throw the rotting carcasses out a few weeks later. I’m not into decorating because it just seems like so much work to put up and take down. I’m the buy candy and costumes and call it a day type of person. This Halloween for some unknown reason without thinking much about it I signed us up to host a trunk. So I had no choice but to step up my game.

Participating in our church's Trunk or Treat and giving back to our community, made it the best Halloween ever.

Participating in our church’s Trunk or Treat and giving back to our community, made it the best Halloween ever.

I picked up an Egyptian princess costume at my local consignment shop for $3 for Hannah. I saw it at the Halloween store for $35 so that was certainly a Discount Diva win. My husband saw the costume and immediately wanted to do an Egyptian themed trunk. So I got the kids to paint some white paper with a mixture of tea and coffee and let it dry. My husband burned the edges to make it look weathered and drew hieroglyphics on the paper and created “ancient scrolls.” He created pyramids out of a cardboard diaper box and built a sandbox to fit in our trunk. We got some spiders and a snake for the scene and I wrapped my son’s minion doll up in toilet paper. I was totally resistant to the idea of dressing up, but my husband insisted that we dress up as a pair of Mummies. I even let him wrap my head in rags made up of cut up T-shirts dyed in coffee.

Our Egyptian themed trunk.

Our Egyptian themed trunk.

Despite my initial misgivings I found myself really getting into it. Our Trunk or Treat had a DJ so I decided to get down with my bad self and create a Mummy dance right there in front of my mini-van. I started to feed off the atmosphere of fun. There were bounce houses, popcorn, cotton candy, hot cocoa and some of the best trunks I’ve ever seen from “Frozen” to Candy Land and even live animals to the most amazing pirate ship you ever saw. Several families asked to take pictures with us and many people asked me if Sydney was a real baby. I said, “of course, I AM a Mummy after all.” It was the best Halloween we ever had. I loved that we were able to make it a great night for so many kids.

Mummy and daughter.

Mummy and daughter.

As I was sitting down to write this post I was struggling to think of what to write as I’m always trying to find some life lesson to impart and then it hit me like a ton of bricks. Sometimes fun is the life lesson. Thursday night after bringing my kids home from trick or treating at their school we put on Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off” and just danced around the living room. Hannah and Jay were shaking and twirling and I got to hear my sweet baby Sydney laughing. It was just one of those moments were you get swept up in the whirlwind of childhood. There will be plenty of life lessons that will come with dried tears in dramatic fashion, but this one – the one where I learned to just let go and have fun with my kids, this one came with a costume change, candy, and some dancing.

