Where’s Waldo Has Nothing On Me

I was recently asked to provide a new photo for my blog and I came to the startling realization that since I’m my family’s resident photographer there were virtually no photos of me to be found. It’s rather sad that the profile photo I’m currently using for my blog was taken during my pregnancy with Hannah roughly eight years ago. Seems like pregnancy is the only time I make a real effort to get a shot of myself and even then it’s more about the little person I’m carrying then myself. Going through photos was like a Where’s Waldo search as most shots of me were photos of my kids where I’m accidentally captured in the background. It got me thinking..are you guilty too?

This photo of Sydney and myself was taken by my good friend Sean Wall-Carty at Sam Sylvester's Disney Character Christmas display in Malboro. If you haven't seen it. I highly recommend it. He even added the characters from Frozen this year.

This photo of Sydney and myself was taken by my good friend Sean Wall-Carty at Sam Sylvester’s Disney Character Christmas display in Malboro. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it. He even added the characters from Frozen this year.

Are You Erasing Memories Of Yourself?

I don’t think it was intentional, at least at first, that I stopped getting in photos. I was just always the one manning the camera. Then the more kids I had, the more in love with them I fell, and the less I loved my post-baby body so it was easiest just to take photos of my husband and kids. I even put off doing a family portrait, opting to only get the kids photos done so I could have more time to shape up before the next one. The last family portrait we had done was almost 5 years ago when Jay was just a few months old. At this rate, maybe the next family portrait will involve a cap and gown. I know I can’t be the only mom or dad who is accidentally erasing the memories our kids will have of us at birthdays, events, vacations, etc. We probably should pass the camera to someone else and get in the shot for our kids’ sakes.

I made a conscious effort to give the camera to my husband so I could get in on this photo with Hannah and Sydney meeting Santa at the Santa Express that visited South Fallsburg last night.

I made a conscious effort to give the camera to my husband so I could get in on this photo with Hannah and Sydney meeting Santa at the Santa Express that visited South Fallsburg last night.

You Are Beautiful Mom!

When my mom died I had the hardest time gathering the few pictures I secretly took of her since she absolutely hated having her photo taken. She didn’t like the way she looked, but she was my mom and that meant that of course she was beautiful. She was important and special and I’m sad that she didn’t see herself the way I did. I suspect my kids think I’m beautiful too, even when I don’t think so. I think that it’s just the nature of being their moms. We love them so much and we want to capture that in every shot, but I think it’s time that we capture ourselves laughing, playing, being silly, and just being there. Sure even without those pictures of us maybe our kids will remember we were there, but maybe they will want to share those memories with their children one day.

