Playing Just Dance on the Wii at my neighbors house with friends Nicole and Ashleigh. Instead of resolving to lose weight in 2015, I resolve to play this game 2 - 3 times a week.

Playing Just Dance on the Wii at my neighbors house with friends Nicole and Ash-Leighh. Instead of resolving to lose weight in 2015, I resolve to play this game 2 – 3 times a week.

Women’s Magazines – Eat This Not That

Since we’re less than a week into 2015, I’ve been thinking about why so many New Year’s resolutions fail. It’s not because we set the bar too high. But if we could simply “resolve” to lose 10 pounds we would have lost them last year or perhaps 10 years ago. I think it’s because we set some broad goal for ourselves without any plan to get there. In the spirit of those magazine articles that suggest swapping this food for that to lose weight, I’ve come up with three of The No Drama Mama’s Resolve This Not That swippy swaps.

1. Swap This – “Lose 10 Pounds” for This – “Play Just Dance 2-3 Times A Week.” Thinking back to the year I was at my skinniest since becoming a mom and how I got there, it wasn’t because I joined a gym, it’s because I spent a summer pushing my two kids in a double stroller around my neighborhood and dancing with my baby in the living room. I think the key was that I was having fun with my kids. My personal resolution is to play Just Dance on the Wii till I’m good at it or at least having so much fun with my kids that I’m not focusing on my post-baby body. You can substitute any physical play you want.

2. Swap This – “Get Out of Debt” for This – “Pay All Cash For One Year.” I’ve been saying for years that I’m on a quest to get out of debt, but like losing weight crash dieting or financial dieting doesn’t work. Sure you can be good for a while, but eventually you fall off the wagon and decide there’s no point in getting back on. The best way to get out of debt is to stop using credit cards. I’m not going to lie, we have a small balance on one card, BUT I also have the cash to pay that card off right this second if need be. The first step towards getting out of debt has to be to stop packing it on. After this card is paid off, my goal is to not use any credit cards this year, hopefully allowing me to pay my last non-home related debt off one year early in 2016.

 

3. Swap This – “Yell Less” for This – “Create Love Banks.” Parenting kids, especially small ones, can be super frustrating. Like many parents, I wish I could contain my frustration better, but I am probably going to lose my patience and yell sometimes so I want to build my kids up so they know that no matter what they do that might make me mad I will ALWAYS love them. I’m going to find a small bank or jar for each child and fill it with strips of paper describing the many things I love about them. Everybody experiences anger and frustration, but the lesson I want to teach my kids is that those emotions are temporary, while love is permanent. While I may not like everything they do, I love everything that makes each of them special.

Do you have some swap this for that resolution ideas? Share them here or on my Facebook page The No Drama Mama.

