(Not to be confused with black bean spaghetti, if you read last week’s post. Just a coincidence, I don’t own stock in beans or anything).

Once we became gluten-free, I learned that many veggie burgers have wheat as a binder. Disappointing. I also learned that making your own veggie burgers is not too difficult. Exciting! One of our favorite cookbooks, Double Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld, has a tasty black bean and veggie burger recipe, but not gluten free. As I tend to do, I converted and tweaked the recipe, both to be gluten-free and to reflect the likings of my children. One major change I made was to add the spices (cinnamon and cumin) which heighten the flavor profile, and I also adjusted the proportions a little. I’ve included two ways to prepare it (with or without a food processor). Either way, they’re fairly easily and quick to make, and both my meat loving husband and veggie loving kids enjoyed them.

Black Bean Burgers

Black Bean Burgers

Ingredients

4 c black beans
2 c mixed vegetables (I used broccoli, green beans, red peppers, corn, celery, and carrots)
1/2 onion
2 cloves of garlic
1 c bread crumbs (I used gluten free, but also have used cooked brown rice)
2 eggs
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
4 teaspoon olive oil, more as needed

Directions

Lightly steam mixed vegetables. Heat two teaspoons of olive oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Sauté garlic and onions. When browned, add vegetables and mix until well incorporated..

If using a food processor, place vegetables, eggs, bread crumbs, and spices into food processor bowl and pulse until coarsely chopped. Add black beans, manually stir in, and pulse again until beans are somewhat broken down. If not using a food processor, finely dice vegetables, roughly mash beans, and mix well, along with bread crumbs, eggs, and spices.

Add the remaining two teaspoons of olive oil to skillet and heat over medium high heat. Measure 1/3 cup portions of black bean mixture and flatten with back of measuring cup. Cook about five minutes on each side, until browned and they can be flipped without breaking. Even once cooked, these are fragile, so handle with care. Serve warm and enjoy!

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.

