When we first discovered that my daughter and I had celiac disease, I was ready to go off the grid and make every-single-morsel my family ate.  On any given day, you could find me grinding rice for our own rice flour, which I blended with four other flours to make our own flour blend for baking; making almond milk, which I turned into yogurt; and grinding peanut butter, which I used in our own granola bars.

About a year into this, I realized I was pretty much living in the kitchen.  I started scaling back and looking for some shortcuts.  I tried baking with Bob’s Red Mill gluten free flour blend, which tasted, I’m sorry to say, awful.  The blend is made with bean flours.  I’m all for beans in my chili, but less so in my baked goods.  So I moved on, and continued to blend flours, favoring either the Artisan Gluten Free Flour blend or Silvana’s blend from Cooking for Isaiah.  Both work fantastically, but every so often I have to spend about an hour shopping for five kinds of flour, weighing and combining them all, and spooning them into containers to tuck all around the pantry.  It’s not hard, but it adds yet another thing to our busy schedule.  Bob’s Red Mill just came out with a new flour blend, similar to the popular Cup 4 Cup blend, and I was excited to choose some of our favorite recipes and try it out.

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free 1:1 Flour

Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Muffin

The first food I made with the 1:1 Flour was our favorite blueberry muffins.  I was pleased to find out that they came out identical to when we used the flour blend that we mix ourselves.  Soft, moist, springy…. delicious.  I was disappointed that the muffins didn’t even last till dinner before they were devoured, but that’s more about us than the flour.

Dutch Baby

Dutch Baby

Next we tried a Pear Dutch Baby from a book I’ve been enjoying, Fast & Simple: Gluten-Free.  This won’t come as a surprise, but I modified the recipe slightly.  I used diced apples instead of sliced pears, and if you’re interested in making it dairy-free, I utilized coconut oil in place of butter and almond milk in place of cow’s milk.  The batter was made in the blender and came together in a snap. Sprinkled with a little powdered sugar, it was a-may-zing!  We’ll definitely be making it again.

Lemon Poppy Seed Tea Bread

Lemon Poppy Bread

Finally, we tried the 1:1 Flour out for dessert.  Also from Fast & Simple, we made Lemon Poppy Seed Tea Bread, sans seeds since we didn’t have any.  The flour worked beautifully in the cake, yielding a sweet, fluffy, just-dense-enough-but-not-too-dense loaf.

I didn’t notice any difference in how this, or any other of the recipes, turned out in comparison to the flours we usually use. The main appeal with using a pre-made blend is that we normally use Bob’s Red Mill flours anyway, but usually buy each of the flours separately.  Now, there is time saved, and you can’t beat the convenience.  If the results were inferior, using the blend would be a non-issue, but happily there were no discernible differences.  We will definitely be using the blend again, and I’m already envisioning what I’ll do with all of the extra time saved.  I’m sure it’ll be used for folding laundry or baking more food, but hey, I can dream, right?

To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy baking!

