My bread machine and I have been pals since my grandma gave it to me as a wedding gift. I’ve used it to make countless loaves of bread, dough for rolls and pizza, even jam. Then we became gluten free. Screeech thump (that’s the sound of my use of the bread machine hitting the wall). Gluten free bread dough isn’t forgiving. The balance of wet to dry is fragile. The dough is sticky, it doesn’t rise nearly as well as gluten-filled dough, and when it does rise, it does so in an airy poof that can fall if mishandled. There are good recipes out there, but there’s a lot of trial and error. Mess it up and you’ll throwing out precious gluten free ingredients!

I have a whole grain loaf I’ve perfected in the bread machine, with an earthy, whole-wheat taste. However, it requires five flours, some of which are super pricey (ever purchase amaranth?) and I have to pencil it into my calendar in order to find time to make it. Since I recently started experimenting with Bob’s Red Mill 1:1 Gluten Free Flour (read the adventure here), I decided to use it for a bread machine loaf. I couldn’t find a recipe for this particular flour blend, so I found this gluten free bread machine recipe and tweaked it to utilize this particular flour blend. I’ve made it four times and my only regret is that I can’t tell you how it holds up after 24 hours, because it’s never lasted that long. It’s amazing in sandwiches, although I dare you not neaten up the loaf to make sure it’s “not crooked.”

Bread

Ingredients

1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 1/2 T oil
3 eggs
8 oz water (room temperature)
4 oz milk (room temperature. We use almond; You can use coconut, dairy milk, or even more water)
1 tsp salt
1 T sugar
17 oz Bob’s Red Mill 1:1 Gluten Free Flour
1 T yeast

Note: T is tablespoon, tsp is teaspoon

Directions

Add the first seven ingredients to the bread machine in the order listed above, and stir well. Spoon the flour into the pan gently, placing it on top of the liquid and leaving a place for the yeast to sit atop the flour without touching the water.

If possible, set the bread machine for the following program:
Preheat 20 minutes
Knead 20 minutes
Rise 70 minutes
Bake at 375 for 75 minutes

If a customized program is not possible, choose a gluten free setting, or the shortest white bread setting possible. About five minutes into the knead cycle, use a rubber spatula to scrape the corners of the pan and incorporate it into the dough.

Bread will come out moist and need time to sit so that the dough doesn’t get stuck on the paddle. Let bread sit in pan for 10 minutes in the pan, then transfer to a wire rack until it is room temperature and does not feel moist. Do not cut until it is completely cool and dry, and use a long, thin, serrated knife.

If your family has a favorite gluten free bread machine recipe, share below. To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.

