The Simple To Make Ouija Board

When I was a kid I played the Ouija board “game” that supposedly contacted spirits to answer questions about your life. I played it at a friend’s house when I was in Middle School. Now the kids have found a new “game” to play called Charlie, Charlie or the Charlie Charlie Challenge. It’s has been played in Spanish speaking countries for generations, but has exploded in popularity in the U.S. recently. If you had asked me last week I would have no clue what game it was.

Young Kids Introduced At School

The fact that the game merely requires pencils and paper make it easy to play anywhere, even school. The Washington Post did an article about the game and there are plenty of YouTube videos showing you how to play. Basically you draw four quadrants on a piece of paper with yes or no in each one. Then you ask permission for Charlie, a demon/ghost of a murdered boy to play. After asking questions, you are supposed to ask Charlie permission to end the game and supposedly those that do not are haunted. My husband read about the game online and just asked my seven-year-old daughter if she had heard about it. She was introduced to it that very day by a friend in her class,HER SECOND GRADE CLASS!

Spiritual Warfare

Even if you aren’t a religious family, I can find plenty of objections to this game and cause to bring it to the attention of teachers and administrators. Besides being scared and getting nightmares, this game teaches kids about evil forces in the world. Sure it seems like it’s just a game, but kids have a natural curiosity about death and I can’t imagine any parent wants to approach that conversation in the context of demons or hell.

What Happens When We Die?

It’s the million dollar question and one day our kids will ask us. In fact my daughter just had the realization a week ago that one day her mother and father will die. It broke my heart to see the tears in Hannah’s eyes so I did what any parent would do. I made a promise I can’t keep. I promised not to die for a very long time. I remember having a similar ah ha moment at around her age and my dad died when I was only 14. No matter what any of us believes none of us have control over when we leave this world. We just try to protect their hearts. We try to calm their fears.

Not A Lesson For School

So I urge you to ask your child if they have heard of or played this game. Tell them to steer clear of it and not to play it. Ask your child’s teacher if they have seen kids playing it and if so ask him/her to put a stop to it. If my child is not allowed to pray to God in school, no child has the right to teach her about the devil or demons. Hannah and I talked and prayed about it and she promised to never play it again.

No matter what you believe about heaven or hell, God and the devil or anything regarding what happens after we die, these lessons should be learned from parents, not peers. Has your child played or heard of this game? If so what did you tell them about it?

