July 29 blog pics 035

I don’t know about you, but I am so happy the fall air is settling into our August nights. After a recent hot spell it feels nice to walk outside without the deep sizzling pain of the hot sun. OK, that’s a little dramatic. But, it really was too hot for us to be outside most days. So, that meant we stayed inside and found things to do in the air conditioning. My girls requested we make cookies, but there was no way I was baking in the heat! So, we made Rice Crispy Treats instead! No oven and the kids can help? That’s a mom-win!

I hope you have all had a rice crispy treat before! If you haven’t you are missing out on a delightful goody! The simplicity of marshmallows and crispy cereal makes them a quick go-to dessert, or a fun addition to your next bake sale.

Earlier this summer I shared with you 4 Low Sugar Snack Time Swaps as I tried to cut down on the sugar in our diets. My mom guilt had me worried about the sugar content in these treats, so I thought I’d amp up the protein just a bit by adding almond butter. The result was nom-nom-nommy!

First, melt a stick of butter in a stock pot. Then add in 1 heaping tablespoon of almond butter. Whisk butters together until well blended.

July 29 blog pics 036

Next, add marshmallows and continue stirring until all marshmallows have melted into the butter mixture.

July 29 blog pics 037

Now, add your crisp rice cereal and stir until all ingredients are incorporated.

Grease a baking pan with your favorite cooking spray, or oil. (I use coconut oil, or butter).

Fill baking pan with the crispy cereal mixture. Use the back of a spoon to smooth into pan. Allow to cool entirely in pan before cutting. Flip the treats out onto a cutting board and cut into squares.

July 29 blog pics 039

That’s it. Seriously, you’re done.

The first time we made these I brought them as an after dinner dessert at a friends house. There wasn’t even a crumb left on the plate. I knew I had a keeper when my friend sent me a text message the next day asking for the recipe!

July 29 blog pics 042

*Tips: wet the back of the spoon before  you smooth mixture into the pan. It keeps the treats from sticking to the spoon.

The deeper the pan, the thicker the treats will be when cut. I used a 9×9 baking square pan to get the treats pictured above.

The Whatever Mom is a full time wife and twin mama living on coffee and wine. She enjoys the pure rush of cleaning the potty between loads of laundry. It is her dream that moms everywhere accept and embrace the Whatever Mom philosophy which can be found here

