Reader Question

So excited to get a reader question! “Where do you find inspiration for your kid’s activities? Do you homeschool?”

To answer, no I do not officially homeschool. We do find a lot of enriching and educational activities to do in our home (and beyond). I began introducing these types of activities to my girls as a way to fill our day. They are almost five now and enjoy guiding the planning process. They definitely have some firm opinions on how things should go around here. I think kids are naturally curious, so I like to find things to get curious about with them.

Where do I find my inspiration? I think Pinterest has a lot to offer.  However, I don’t always have time to pin projects and then shop for supplies. (I usually forget about all those pins once I log out). I sometimes get overwhelmed by the sheer volume of choices. I often find inspiration for projects at our library, or in books we already have at home. I try to notice what my kids like about each book we read, which ones are they gravitating toward and what are some of the themes they enjoy. Then I try to connect those themes with another activity like a craft, or a cooking project, an experiment or drawing from imagination.

Grandpa and Me Pizza

Around the time the girls were two and a half they discovered a book at the library about making pizza with grandpa. I thought, “why not make our own?!” That is how our Friday night pizza tradition began! I have such warm memories of being in the kitchen with my mother, I thought this would be a great way for us to connect and make memories too. (It is also a great way to sneak in some extra veggies under the radar. The secret is in the sauce!). Now our pizza nights include a family movie night, or girls spa night when hubby is working late. Who knew one little book could inspire so much!?

So, that’s my secret formula for finding our activities. My kids interests are my inspiration! I add in a touch of creativity and sometimes something more structured from Pinterest. But, most of all I am inspired by fun!

Where do you find inspiration for fun crafts and activities to do with the kids?

The Whatever Mom is a full time wife and twin mama living on coffee and wine. She enjoys the pure rush of cleaning the potty between loads of laundry. It is her dream that moms everywhere accept and embrace the Whatever Mom philosophy which can be found here.

