My kids (all kids) are snack monsters.  If left to their own devices, I think they’d eat snack every seven minutes.  Even before we were gluten free, I was never one to rely on packaged snacks.  It was always more rewarding to put together a little something special that would give the kids energy for the morning.  It took all of my older daughter’s Kindergarten year for me to decipher her request for “fire chips” that she saw in the classroom (turned out to be the individually-sized bags of Doritos with a picture of a flame on the front).

However… even in the face of best intentions, we don’t always have the time for extensive homemade snacks.  Making slices of banana bread and a batch of granola bars has been on my to-do list for weeks now, but I have yet to get to it. Sometimes, you need a quick but healthy snack.

Decorated Bananas

Decorated Bananas

A sliced banana, sprinkled with cinnamon (or cinnamon-sugar), unsweetened coconut flakes, and raisins or craisins is a snack that often satisfies my kids.  This can be prepared completely by your child- even one as young as two years old can use a butter knife with supervision, and be instructed to make slices.  You could even send it to school with your child, to be assembled so it’s fresh… a small paper plate and plastic knife, banana, and little container of cinnamon, coconut, and raisins.  Put together in mere seconds, it beats a snack filled with preservatives and food dye.

As my kids said after eating snack earlier this morning… “Delicious, filling, good for you, and healthy! A guilt-free snack.”  Can’t argue with that.

Share your favorite quick, kid-friendly snacks.  To see what’s happening in our kitchen, or to share what’s going on in yours, please stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  I hope your family has settled into their back-to-school routine and enjoying the approach of Fall.

