I used to cook and bake all.the.time.  Looking back at the early days of my blog, I was churning out homecooked meals and freshly baked bread and rolls three meals a day.  How did I do it?  I’m not really sure… I had a preschooler and toddler… where was I finding the time to both cook and document it?

Fast forward to five years later… I’m still cooking as often as possible, trying to keep our diet full of fresh, whole foods, but between full days of homeschooling and afterschool/evening activities an average of five days a week, I’m lucky my socks match.  I still blog, but my time to do so is always short and infrequent.  As I pick out our meals, I look for quicker, streamlined recipes with fewer steps and ingredients than I used to.  It’s just how life is right now.

On the flip side… relying on store bought shortcuts gets expensive, and processed ingredients can creep onto your plate.  I was making pulled chicken the other night and wanted to serve it with rolls.  At $5 for four rolls, buying them seemed like a waste, so I googled a few recipes. For less than the price of one package, I knew I could make almost two dozen rolls.  But which recipe?  There were some great ones but they required making starters first, rolling out dough, and other steps for which I knew I wouldn’t have time during our busy afternoon.  Finally, I stumbled upon one that looked simple but appealing.  I decided to give it a go, and by the end of the evening, we’d fallen in love.  Score!

Rolls-1

Easy Gluten Free Dinner Rolls

I found the recipe on My Gluten Free Kitchen’s blog.  Instructions were pretty clear cut, requiring a quick whisk of ingredients in the mixer, three minutes of mixing after adding wet ingredients, scooping and shaping them right into a round pan, an hour rise, and a 30 min bake.  No rolling and cutting dough, a short list of ingredients, and minimal shaping.  I did two consecutive batches, wanting to make enough tor lunch, dinner, and a few leftover for the next day’s breakfast.  I was delighted that they shaped easily, rose beautifully, and filled the kitchen with a fresh-baked bread smell. They were heavenly right out of the oven, and I warmed them again before serving them for dinner.  My husband asked if I could make them again for the next night, so I considered that a very good sign.  These are highly recommended!

Rolls-2

Share your favorite quick recipes below.  To see what’s happening in our kitchen, or to share what’s going on in yours, please stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy baking!

