Each week the girls and I try to create our own projects. I scour Pinterest, or Facebook for ideas and we make them our own. I like to keep things simple. This week is so busy we are taking some help from the store. Well, more specifically a generous gift giver. The girls are using the gem mining kit by Wonderology they got as a birthday gift. I was reluctant to pull this out because of the mess factor. But, I can’t hold them off any longer, so now we are sharing with you!

Gem mining kit Wonderology

The age recommendation on the box says age 8+ but my 5-year olds love it! (I later found these available at Target). The kit comes complete with little plastic excavation tools and promises there are 8 gems inside.

Gem mining Wonderology

I placed the plaster cast inside a large disposable aluminum food pan to keep the excavation tidy.

Disposable food tray keeps crafting neat

It was a challenge to unearth these little gems as they were really hidden! It was big work for little hands so I stepped in to help by breaking the cast into smaller pieces to make chiseling easier.

Gem stones Wonderology

After we uncovered all of the gems I gave the girls the extra step of cleaning them. I emptied the plaster rubble into the garbage and filled our tray with clean, clear water. They enjoyed the water play as much as the mining activity.

Water play

Now that my girls are a little older and moving way from some of the younger preschool activities I often find myself challenged by what to do next. They don’t know it, but I stashed away all the arts and crafts gift sets they got for their birthday and I’ll bring those out on those less inspired days. Sometimes it’s OK to follow a boxed craft.

What are some of your favorite kids craft kits?

The Whatever Mom is a full time wife and twin mama living on coffee and wine. She enjoys the pure rush of cleaning the potty between loads of laundry. It is her dream that moms everywhere accept and embrace the Whatever Mom philosophy which can be found here.

