A few years ago, we ate dinner at a BBQ restaurant that featured barbecued chicken with a baked potato.  I thought it seemed kind of unusual, but decided to give it a try.  My daughter and I shared and loved it, and it stuck in my head as a future dinner idea.  The restaurant has since closed and I’d forgotten about it, until it popped into my head today.  We had yet another busy afternoon ahead and I was staring at chicken breasts in the fridge and potatoes in the pantry.  A quick dinner was born.

BBQ Chicken Baked Potato

Barbecued Chicken Baked Potatoes

Recreating this quick dinner is quite simple.  I trimmed the fat off two pounds of chicken breasts, put them into the crockpot whole, added about 3/4 of a cup of barbecue sauce, and coated them well.  Homemade sauce would be great, but as a last minute meal, I used what we already had.  It cooked for seven hours on low, then I shredded the chicken with two large forks and let it sit in the barbecue sauce on warm while I heated up the potatoes.  I intended to serve dinner with shredded cheese and steamed broccoli, but found we were out of broccoli and ended up cooking some carrots instead.  It still worked.  Sour cream would be a great addition as well.  My kids gobbled this up and I had to make sure they left some for my husband who was working late, or it would’ve all been gone within minutes.  It was gluten-free without any substitutions, which is always a bonus in our house.  This was a delicious and really quick meal to prepare, and very kid friendly.  Try it out in your weeknight rotation!

Share your weeknight dinner ideas below with our readers.  To see what’s happening in our kitchen, or to share what’s going on in yours, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  TGIF!

