DIY COOKIE PLATE FOR SANTA

I don’t know about you, but every year around Christmas I experience delusions of grandeur. I think, “THIS is the year everything will sparkle, and glisten and drip with Christmas cheer!!” But, then I run out of time and I realize if we want clean clothes and food to eat I need to scale back a bit on the expectations. I always end up with a pared down version of what I originally want. And, that’s OK. Sparkle and tinsel aren’t what make our holiday’s shine bright.

What makes everything bright is our excitement for our special traditions. I didn’t have many Christmas traditions growing up. But, the one thing I love to do is set out a plate of cookies and milk for Santa. I don’t know which is more exciting to leave the cookies out, or to see he has actually taken a bite! (Yes, I know I’m the one taking a bite of the cookies don’t ruin the magic for the kids!).

I found this mug and sectioned platter on clearance for less than $10

I found this mug and sectioned platter on clearance for less than $10

I have this really grand idea of turning a plain white plate into a spectacular looking cookie tray with a matching mug personalized just for my kids. I get excited just thinking about their joy using this plate year after year! Turns out I don’t need to start from scratch. I can simply buy a cute plate and personalize it! Let me introduce you to the Sharpie oil paint marker. If you haven’t tried these yet- YOU WILL WANT TO! You can write on glossy ceramic finishes and glass.

This ceramic dish already has a hand painted look to it.

This ceramic dish already has a hand painted look to it.

Thank you Michael’s for your 60% clearance sale and coupons!! I went into Michael’s quickly to just pick up the Sharpie paint markers, but then I found plates and mugs just waiting for someone to embellish them. That someone is ME!!

I thought this mug coordinated well with the plate!

I thought this mug coordinated well with the plate!

Here’s the end product! I painted snow flakes and dots to coordinate the mug with the cup. I added my kids names so every year Santa will know his cookies and carrot sticks are from them. *wink*

With just a few small embellishments you have a very personalized and coordinated look!

With just a few small embellishments you have a very personalized and coordinated look!

For around $20 and five minutes of time I checked off one of my holiday craft projects! Creating something my kids can look forward to unpacking year after year is priceless!

The Whatever Mom is a full time wife and twin mama living on coffee and wine. She enjoys the pure rush of cleaning the BIG potty between loads of laundry. It is her dream that moms everywhere accept and embrace the Whatever Mom philosophy which can be found here.

