Cookie time is a fun time of year.  Most cookie bakers have their collections of recipes and anxiously anticipate baking season.  Some people make their tried-and-true recipes each year, while others enjoy mixing in a new variety.  If you’re gluten free or baking for someone who is, here are a few recipes to add to your collection.

The Chocolate Chip

In recipe sharing, I always start with the classic chocolate chip.  While it’s not a traditional holiday cookie in my opinion, every gluten free baker needs this recipe in the box. I promise, no one will know it’s not made with regular flour.  Replace some of the chocolate chips with red and green M&Ms and these cookies will brighten up your cookie platter.

20141228_151704

 

The Peanut Butter Blossom

I have a feeling that Santa would not come without the presence of these cookies; that’s how synonymous they are with Christmas in our house. Chocolate and peanut butter speak for themselves, and everyone will be glad to see them among your cookies!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 The Man (Gingerbread, that is)

Here’s a traditional (and quite tasty) cookie recipe.  We always have fun rolling out and munching on little Gingerbread men during the holiday season.  Pair him up with some hot cocoa, sit and gaze at the tree, and winter break will be delightful.

The Pretty Sugar Cookie

I’ll admit, I was always intimidated by cookies that required use of cookie cutters.  It takes a certain level of skill to roll them out to just the right thickness, transfer them without them breaking, and decorate them just right.  Gluten free dough can be even trickier to work with, and really requires just the right recipe.  Fortunately, this one is great. The two most important tips- keep the dough refrigerated, and (rice) flour your parchment paper well before rolling out and cutting dough.

The Pignoli

As a child, I remember eating (and loving) pignoli cookies from an Italian bakery in the Bronx.  I’d always been curious about making this cookie, but never liked the idea of starting with canned almond paste.  This recipe is from one of my favorite cookbooks, and begins simply with turning almond flour into a homemade almond paste.  We  made a batch, and they were an instant hit. They’re a classic Italian Christmas cookie, sure to delight the crowd.

The Candy Cane

This one will be new to our repertoire this year, and my kids can’t wait to make them.  It comes from my other favorite recipe site, and looks pretty easy.  I think the splash of color will be a fun addition to our cookie platter.

The Spritz

I grew up looking forward to my Grandma’s spritz cookies in her many tins each Christmas.  They’re hands-down one of my all-time favorites. However, I stopped making them once we were gluten free since the dough can be kind of tricky.  I saw this recipe from a trusted source, and the photo of the cookies had me sold. I’m even investing in a cookie press. Can you tell I’m excited?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

We begin our baking this weekend, and I’m excited for recipes both old and new. If you have some family favorites, please share them with our readers.  To see what’s happening in our kitchen, or to share what’s going on in yours, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.  Happy baking!

