Many of our meals have been recreated without dairy, due to food allergies that run in the family.  Every once in a while, though, we can revisit dairy for a special meal.  I found some freshly made gluten-free pasta recently which just begged for a homemade sauce.  My family requested Alfredo, and I had to agree.  I looked to make it lower fat and with a little bit less dairy, so I fiddled around with ingredients until I got it just how we liked it. So much so that we made it again a week later.  I’ve tucked away the recipe since then, because it is just too good. My older daughter scribed the recipe for me as I cooked, and affectionately gave it its name.

Alfredo

 

Homemade Alfredo

Ingredients

4 cloves of garlic, chopped

½ stick of butter

½ c. milk (I used skim)

½ c. half and half (cream would be fine, but this is a little healthier)

1 ¼  c. Parmesan cheese

¼ c. Nutritional yeast (this is optional; more cheese could be used instead)

* T = tablespoonFettuccine Alfredo

Directions

In a large frying pan, melt butter over medium heat.  Add chopped garlic and sautée until lightly browned.  Add milk and half and half, simmer for five minutes on low.  Whisk in the Parmesan cheese (and nutritional yeast, if using) and stir until smooth.  Add in 12-16 oz. of cooked pasta, toss well, and serve immediately.  Enjoy!

This recipe comes together easily, and could be enhanced with grilled chicken or shrimp, broccoli, or spinach.  Share your weeknight dinner recipes below.   To see what’s happening in our kitchen, or to share what’s going on in yours, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.

