Homemade playdough

When my kids were toddlers I was very weary of letting them use store bought play dough. I know it says it’s not toxic, but my fear of them taking a giant bite out of a colorful pretend cookie kept me from purchasing.  I found this fabulous recipe and now I’m sharing with all of you! Every ingredient is edible which makes it safe and digestible should any of it find your toddlers mouth. Using Kool Aid gives the dough vibrant colors and it will smell amazing!

Ingredients:

2 Cups flour

½ Cup salt

1 packet of Kool Aid

1 Cup boiling water (I ran my tap until the water was at its hottest)

3 Tablespoons oil (Sunflower, or Vegetable works best)

Instructions:

Mix the flour, salt and Kool Aid together first.  Next, add oil to the boiling water before pouring into the bowl. The fun part is watching the colors magically appear.

Stir all ingredients together until it resembles crumbles. That’s when it’s time for all hands on deck! Everyone can take turns kneading the dough until it becomes a smooth ball.

play dough crumbles

Store the dough in an air tight container, or plastic baggie. I found these adorable boxes with clip top lids at the Dollar Tree.

play dough boxes2

That’s it! You’re done. You can use whatever cookie cutters you have on hand, or the kitchen rolling pin. All of the ingredients are food products, so no worries of contaminating your kitchen gadgets with chemicals. The kids can go play while you cleanup and maybe take a few sips of coffee while it’s hot.

If your child is gluten free I’ve got you covered! I found this recipe for Gluten Free Edible Playdough at Fun At Home with Kids. I might try it just for fun with the kids. It’s always nice to have alternatives.

So, if you’re looking for a fun, easy and inexpensive project with the kiddos this is it! Your little ones can learn to scoop, measure and mix. There is a wonderful sensory component to kneading the dough and of course the power of using their imaginations will keep them entertained for just a little while.

 

The Whatever Mom is a full-time wife and twin mama living on coffee and wine. She enjoys the pure rush of cleaning the BIG potty between loads of laundry. It is her dream that moms everywhere accept and embrace the Whatever Mom philosophy which can be found here.

 

