After stocking up at the Can-Can sale, I found myself staring at an unholy number of cans of tomatoes.  It was time to do something with them, and fast.  What better than to use some on a dinner that would mostly cook itself?  We’re still getting over winter illnesses here,  so I needed something that I could prep in the morning when energy was high, and enjoy later when I’d already crashed.

Slow Cooked Meat Sauce

Slow Cooked Meat Sauce

This recipe is great for a busy winter day, when you’re craving a comforting meal and abundant fresh produce and herbs are off-season.  It does require a two-step cooking process of browning the meat before putting it into the crockpot, but it’s worth it to be able to drain off the fat.  My daughters begged me to let them try the sauce before it was fully cooked, and I caught my husband drinking leftovers. So, that speaks for itself.

Ingredients

2 lb. lean ground meat (we use Turkey)

6 garlic cloves, chopped

1 medium onion, diced

2 (28 oz) cans of tomato puree

2 (6 oz) cans of tomato paste

28 oz water

1/3 c. olive oil

1 T* (each) dried parsley, basil, and oregano

1 t* salt

1 t pepper

2 T sugar

Note:  *T stands for tablespoon, t for teaspoon

Directions

Spray a large a skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium-high.   Sautée the ground meat, garlic, and onion until browned, about 10 minutes.  Drain well, and transfer to crockpot with slotted spoon.  Add remaining ingredients to crockpot, and stir well.  Cook on low for 8-10 hours, stirring once about halfway through.  Serve over your favorite pasta, with a tossed salad.  This makes enough for a full pound of pasta plus I filled three large jars with sauce, which I froze for future use.

Share your weekend dinner family favorites.  To see what’s happening in our kitchen, or to share what’s going on in yours, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook.

