I Heart

My kids really love making hands on science experiments. They especially love anything that explodes bubbles or makes a mess. Me, I like a nice contained experiment the most. But, I digress. My kids are also really excited about Valentine’s Day. With the holiday right around the corner I thought it would be fun to find a way to marry the two! Today we have a super easy Valentine’s Day science experiment kids of any age will enjoy.

What you will need:

I heart materials

1 package of conversation hearts

1 bottle of sparkling water

4 Antacid tablets (or Alka-Seltzer tabs)

1 clear glass or container

Before we start the experiment I share the word effervescent. Then we talk about what it means. Then I ask each of the girls for a hypothesis, or what they think will happen once I pour the sparkling water in the glass.

First, drop in the four antacid tabs into your glass or jar.

Next, drop in a handful of conversation hearts.

I heart seltzer drop

Last, let your kids slowly poor in the sparkling water.

I heart sparkle water

The effervescence of the ant acid tabs and the bubbles in the sparkling water creates a gas that causes the hearts to wiggle and jiggle their way to the top of the glass. Even without sharing all the big scientific words kids will just have fun watching this experiment!

I heart dancing

I confess our first attempt was not a success. My favorite dollar store was out of ant acid tabs and all I could find was a package of Efferdent (denture cleaning tabs).  Contrary to my expectations, these tabs do not produce enough bubbles to have the same effect.  But, they do make the water a pretty blue color. We broke up 1 tab of Efferdent and dropped it into the water. This is science after all and we wouldn’t be very good scientists if we didn’t test the limits of our experiment.

I heart blue

The girls were just giddy with excitement watching these little hearts rise and fall. They of course really enjoy the bubbles and “sizzling” sound of the effervescence.

While the bubbles do their thing we talk about a gas vs. a liquid and a solid. The girls ask all kinds of questions about what is in the tabs to make the bubbles, and the most important question of all, “Can we still eat the candy?”

An important note:  once the candy is used in the Alka-Seltzer you should not eat them, or drink the water. It often contains aspirin which is not good for children under age 12. So, please be sure to keep a watchful eye with young kids.

This fun and quick experiment is a great way to introduce some simple science and has a pretty cool effect.

After we cleanup (as all good scientists do) we begin our next experiment: a taste test of every color of the candy hearts. The final results are yellow is our favorite (it is banana flavored).

 

The Whatever Mom is a full-time wife and twin mama living on coffee and wine. She enjoys the pure rush of cleaning the BIG potty between loads of laundry. It is her dream that moms everywhere accept and embrace the Whatever Mom philosophy which can be found here.

 

 

