The older my kids are getting, the more I’m appreciating their help around the house, especially in the kitchen.  I can easily hand off making salad, prepping ingredients, and sometimes, an entire part of the meal.  We had a quiet afternoon this week during which I was able to make a crustless quiche (I’ll share the recipe next week!) and fruit salad, but found myself short on time as I got ready to make muffins.  I offered the muffin recipe to my girls and was happy that they had both the skill and confidence to take over.  One measured and mixed while the other made the topping, and as a compromise, I wiped down the counter after they put everything away.  It was awesome to have the time to work on another task while they handled part of dinner.  Definitely one of those pat-yourself-on-the-back, good-job-mommy moments.  As I’ve said many times, I wholeheartedly recommend keeping kids in the kitchen from the beginning.  Let skills build from them helping you to you helping them.  Ultimately, you will be able to step back and watch as they made creations of their own, and never look back.

 20160204_173837

The quiche, muffins, and fruit salad made a great quick weeknight dinner.   Quiche comes together in minutes and fruit salad can always be made in advance.  These muffins, with their lush blueberries and crumbly topping, are fun for kids to tackle.  Hand over the recipe and let your kids contribute on your next busy weeknight!  To find out what’s new in our kitchen, stop by, or become a fan on Facebook. Happy cooking.

